Workshop
Draw (and Play) a Synthesizer
Coralie Gourguechon (FR)
More information

Draw (and Play) a Synthesizer
Coralie Gourguechon (FR)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Coralie Gourguechon

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

Using conductive paint and paper electronics, designer Coralie Gourguechon will demonstrate how to create a variety of (lofi) musical interfaces by simply drawing them. This session includes introductions to electronic prototyping, 555 timers, and sound generation.

Create a playable (!) synthesizer with conductive paint on paper. After a hands-on introduction to paper electronics and printed circuits, workshop participants will first learn how to prototype and test an electronic circuit – the 555 timer circuit that generates the synthesizer’s base audio frequency – on a breadboard. By connecting it to a variety of interface templates, we will then explore how visual parameters (line length, thickness, and position) and hand gestures correspond with different (lofi) sounds. Expanding on these templates, participants will draft their own (in a vector drawing program). Once your custom interface is layed out, stenciled, and traced with conductive paint, you’re ready to jam!

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English/ French (depending on the participants preference)
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: a computer with a vector drawing tool installed (Adobe Illustrator or similar).

About Coralie Gourguechon: Coralie Gourguechon is an interdisciplinary designer and researcher based in Marsailles. Known for her elegant paper electronics kits (DIY speakers and cameras), makeshift foxhole radios, and household hacking exercises, the former Fabrica and Lighthouse resident designer has been widely featured on Wired, Gizmodo, Icon, and Designboom. Coralie is also a 2016 digital innovation IK Prize winner for an artificial intelligence installation shown at the Tate.

Workshop
Draw (and Play) a Synthesizer
Coralie Gourguechon (FR)
En savoir plus

Draw (and Play) a Synthesizer
Coralie Gourguechon (FR)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Coralie Gourguechon

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

À l’aide de peinture conductrice et d’électronique sur papier, la designer Coralie Gourguechon montrera comment créer de multiples interfaces (lo-fi) simplement en les dessinant. Ce workshop proposera également une introduction au prototypage électronique, aux circuits intégrés 555 timer et à la génération de son.

Créez un synthétiseur jouable (!) avec de la peinture conductrice sur du papier. Après une introduction pratique à l’électronique papier et aux circuits imprimés, les participants au workshop apprendront tout d’abord à prototyper et tester un circuit électronique – le circuit de temporisation 555 qui génère la fréquence audio de base du synthétiseur – sur une maquette. En le connectant à une variété de modèles d’interface, nous explorerons ensuite comment les paramètres visuels (longueur de ligne, épaisseur et position) et les gestes de la main correspondent aux différents sons. En développant ces gabarits, les participants élaboreront leur propre modèle (dans un programme de dessin vectoriel). Une fois que votre interface personnalisée est tracée, peinte au pochoir et tracée avec de la peinture conductrice, vous êtes prêts à jammer!

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais/ français (selon la préférence des participants)
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un ordinateur sur lequel un logiciel de dessin vectoriel est installé (Adobe Illustrator ou similaire).

À propos de Coralie Gourguechon: Coralie Gourguechon est une designer et chercheuse interdisciplinaire basée à Marseille. Connue pour ses élégants kits électroniques en papier (haut-parleurs et caméra DIY), ses radios de fortune et ses exercices de hacking domestique, l’ancienne designer résidente du Fabrica et du Lighthouse a été largement présentée dans Wired, Gizmodo, Icon et Designboom. Coralie est également lauréate 2016 du prix IK de l’innovation numérique pour une installation d’intelligence artificielle présentée au Tate.