Workshop
Augmented Reality DIY
Raphaël de Courville, Stef Tervelde (FR/NL)
More information

Augmented Reality DIY
Raphaël de Courville, Stef Tervelde (FR/NL)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Raphaël de Courville, Stef Tervelde

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

The magic of the virtual overlay: creative technologists Raphaël de Courville and Stef Tervelde will introduce mobile Augmented Reality, show how to develop for it using Unity and ARKit, and help participants build their own interactive mobile AR experience.

With the recent success of Apple’s augmented reality toolbox ARKit, the promise of mobile AR – the seamless insertion of computer generated content into our surroundings – is finally beginning to deliver. In this workshop, participants will learn ‘why augmented reality matters’ (see Raphaël’s eponymous essay linked below) and how to create handheld, interactive AR experiences of their own. After an introduction to the possibilities and limits of mobile AR today, participants will get started with the basics of AR development in Unity, learn how to use ARKit’s image recognition (to detect visual markers like posters or paintings), and program AR interaction (placing a 3D object in a virtual space, and triggering animation and sound by tap or proximity). P.S. We will ‘repaint’ (augment) vintage fleamarket paintings, participants are encouraged to bring their own.

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English/ French (depending on the participants preference)
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: a laptop with enough graphics performance to run Unity / Unity version 2017.1 or above / iPhone 6s or higher with iOS 11.3 installed / recommended: Macbook with macOS 10.13 (High Sierra) or above + latest XCode 9.3 from the Apple Developer website (requires macOS 10.13) / also: bring your own fleamarket painting to use as a marker.
Useful Reading: Why Mobile AR Matters / Developing for ARKit 1.5 update using Unity ARKit Plugin.

About Raphaël de Courville and Stef Tervelde: Raphaël de Courville is a media artist, and educator based in Berlin. Prior to co-founding NEEEU, Raphaël worked for ART+COM where he led a prototyping and R&D space focused on ambient interaction. He has also been hosting the Creative Code Berlin meetups since 2013. His work has been exhibited internationally, including at Akademie der Künste (Berlin), White Night (Brighton), Collegium Hungaricum (Berlin).
Stef Tervelde is a graduate of Interaction Design at ArtEZ Academy of Art Arnhem with a passion for all things digital. He uses code to design processes for quick iteration and design as a tool to look critically at the technologies that he creates. He is currently part of the team at NEEEU.

Credits: NEEEU & Geoffrey Marchal

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Workshop
Augmented Reality DIY
Raphaël de Courville, Stef Tervelde (FR/NL)
En savoir plus

Augmented Reality DIY
Raphaël de Courville, Stef Tervelde (FR/NL)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Raphaël de Courville, Stef Tervelde

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

Magie de la superposition virtuelle: les technologues créatifs Raphaël de Courville et Stef Tervelde présenteront la Réalité Augmentée pour mobile, montreront comment la développer à l’aide de Unity et ARKit, et aideront les participants à construire leur propre expérience interactive mobile de RA.

Avec le récent succès de l’ARKit, la boîte à outils de réalité augmentée d’Apple, la promesse de RA mobile – l’insertion transparente du contenu généré par ordinateur dans notre environnement – commence enfin à se concrétiser. Lors de ce workshop, les participants vont apprendre « pourquoi la réalité augmentée est importante » (voir l’essai éponyme de Raphaël en lien ci-dessous) et comment créer leurs propres expériences portatives de réalité augmentée et interactive. Après une introduction aux possibilités et limites de la RA mobile actuelle, les participants commenceront avec les bases du développement de RA dans Unity, apprendront à utiliser la reconnaissance d’image d’ARKit (pour détecter des marqueurs visuels comme des affiches ou peintures), et programmeront des interactions RA (placer un objet 3D dans un espace virtuel, et déclencher une animation et son par tape ou proximité). P.S.: Nous allons « repeindre » (augmenter) des peintures vintage provenant de marchés aux puces, les participants sont encouragés à amener les leurs.

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais/ français (selon la préférence des participants)
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un ordinateur portable dont les performances graphiques sont suffisantes pour exécuter Unity / chaque ordinateur doit être équipé de la version Unity 2017.1 ou supérieure / chaque participant doit se munir d’un iPhone 6s ou plus avec la version iOS 11.3 installée / recommandé: un Macbook avec macOS 10.13 (High Sierra) ou supérieur + la dernière version de XCode 9.3 du site de l’Apple Developer (nécessite macOS 10.13) / aussi: apportez votre propre tableau vintage chiné au marché aux puces pour l’utiliser comme marqueur visuel.
Lectures utiles: Why Mobile AR Matters / Developing for ARKit 1.5 update using Unity ARKit Plugin.

À propos de Raphaël de Courville et Stef Tervelde: Raphaël de Courville est un artiste media et éducateur basé à Berlin. Avant de co-fonder NEEEU, Raphaël a travaillé pour ART+COM où il a dirigé un espace de prototypage et de R&D axé sur l’interaction ambiante. Il a également été l’hôte des rencontres de Creative Code Berlin depuis 2013. Son travail a été exposé dans le monde entier, comme à l’Akademie der Künste (Berlin), White Night (Brighton), Collegium Hungaricum (Berlin).
Stef Tervelde est diplômé d’Interaction Design at ArtEZ Academy of Art Arnhem avec une passion pour tout ce qui touche au numérique. Il utilise le code pour concevoir des processus d’itération rapide en tant qu’outil permettant de jeter un regard critique sur les technologies qu’il crée. Il fait actuellement partie de l’équipe de NEEEU.

Crédits: NEEEU & Geoffrey Marchal

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus