Workshop
Visual Programming with Paper.js
Jürg Lehni (CH)
More information

Visual Programming with Paper.js
Jürg Lehni (CH)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Jürg Lehni

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

Unpacking the anatomy of Bézier paths and vector geometry, artist and designer Jürg Lehni will teach participants how to use the Paper.js scripting framework to generate complex graphics and build dynamic drawing tools that can be used manually or procedurally.

Paper.js is a vector graphics framework for JavaScript that its creators, Jürg Lehni and Jonathan Puckey, describe as “the Swiss army knife of vector graphics scripting.” Launched as a browser-based successor to Lehni’s famous Scriptographer and used for high-profile web projects by The New York Times, FourSquare, and Google Creative Lab, Paper.js offers a unique approach to working with graphics that in the words of Zach Lieberman “feels like coding directly inside a vector graphics program such as Adobe Illustrator.” After an introduction to the fundamentals of Bézier paths and vector geometry, workshop participants will learn how to use the Paper.js vocabulary to create and then animate complex graphics. Building on that knowledge, we will design intuitive drawing tools that can be used manually while responding dynamically to velocity or direction.

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English/ French (depending on the participants preference)
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: a computer with any modern browser (supporting the Canvas object and EcmaScript 5) / participants should feel comfortable working with entry-level JavaScript and are encouraged to experiment with Paper.js before the workshop.

About Jürg Lehni: Jürg Lehni works collaboratively across disciplines, dealing with the nuances of technology, tools, and the human condition. His works often take the form of platforms and scenarios for production and research, such as the drawing machines Hektor, Rita, and Viktor, as well as software-based frameworks, including Paperjs.org, Scriptographer.org and Vectorama.org. Lehni has shown work at the MoMA New York, SFMOMA, Walker Art Center, Centre Pompidou, Institute of Contemporary Arts London, and Design Museum London.

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Workshop
Visual Programming with Paper.js
Jürg Lehni (CH)
En savoir plus

Visual Programming with Paper.js
Jürg Lehni (CH)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Jürg Lehni

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

Dévoilant l’anatomie des courbes de Bézier et de la géométrie vectorielle, l’artiste et designer Jürg Lehni apprendra aux participants comment utiliser le script Paper.js pour générer des graphiques complexes et concevoir des outils de dessin dynamiques pouvant être utilisés manuellement ou via certaines procédures.

Paper.js est un cadriciel graphique vectoriel pour JavaScript que ses créateurs Jürg Lehni et Jonathan Puckey décrivent comme « le couteau suisse des scripts graphiques vectoriels ». Lancé en tant que successeur basé sur un navigateur du célèbre Scriptographer de Lehni et utilisé pour des projets web spectaculaires par le New York Times, FourSquare et Google Creative Lab, Paper.js offre une approche unique pour travailler avec des graphismes qui, selon les mots de Zach Lieberman, « donne l’impression qu’on code directement à l’intérieur d’un programme de graphiques vectoriels tel que Adobe Illustrator ». Après une introduction aux fondamentaux des courbes de Bézier et de la géométrie vectorielle, les participants au workshop apprendront à utiliser le vocabulaire de Paper.js afin de créer et ensuite animer des graphiques complexes. Sur la base de ces connaissances acquises, nous allons concevoir des outils de dessin intuitifs qui peuvent être utilisés manuellement tout en répondant dynamiquement à la vitesse ou la direction.

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais/ français (selon la préférence des participants)
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un ordinateur avec un navigateur récent (supportant l’objet Canvas et EcmaScript 5) / ce workshop est destiné à toute personne à l’aise avec les bases de JavaScript et ayant si possible pris leurs marques avec Paper.js avant le workshop.

À propos de Jürg Lehni: Jürg Lehni travaille de concert dans diverses disciplines, traitant avec les différentes nuances de la technologie, outils et de la condition humaine. Ses œuvres prennent souvent la forme de plateformes et de scénarios pour la production et la recherche, tel que les machines à dessin Hektor, Rita et Viktor, ainsi que des frameworks basés sur des logiciels, notamment Paperjs.org, Scriptographer.org et Vectorama.org. Lehni a exposé au MoMA New York, SFMOMA, Walker Art Center, Centre Pompidou, Institute of Contemporary Arts London, et au Design Museum London.