Workshop
Hacking the Human Sensorium
Susanna Hertrich, Daniela Silvestrin (DE/CH)
More information

Hacking the Human Sensorium
Susanna Hertrich, Daniela Silvestrin (DE/CH)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Susanna Hertrich, Daniela Silvestrin

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

Making the invisible visible: artist Susanna Hertrich and researcher Daniela Silvestrin will reveal the secret world of electromagnetic (EM) fields – and how easily our senses can be tricked. Using EM field detectors and hands-on experiments, participants will prototype sensorial hacks.

Welcome to a journey through the human and non-human sensorium, where we will play with our perception and reveal what cannot be seen (heard, smelled, tasted, felt). After a series of hands-on experiments that ‘hack’ our primary senses, we enter the secret world of electromagnetic (EM) fields – signals emitted from wireless telecommunication devices and other microwave technologies – equipped with custom EM field ‘detektors’ (developed by Shintaro Miyazaki and Martin Howse). Over the course of this workshop, participants will develop a new understanding of how we define and use our senses and learn how reflecting on the bodily ways of sensing accessible or hidden information can be used as a methodology in the design and creative prototyping of sensorial hacks.

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: pens and paper / workshop materials will be provided.

About Susanna Hertrich & Daniela Silvestrin: Susanna Hertrich works at the intersection of conceptual design and contemporary art. Along with her artistic practice, she is a researcher at the Institute of Experimental Design and Media Cultures at the Academy of Art and Design FHNW in Basel, Switzerland. Her artistic research investigates extensions of the human senses and the role of the physical body in relation to technology-driven environments.
Daniela Silvestrin is a curator, researcher and program developer for international cultural projects. In her work she explores hybrid artistic practices and knowledge production at the intersection of art, law, and science, driven by her particular interest in the various physical, ethical, and other boundaries and distinctions between the human and non-human, life and matter, that gradually become invisible due to techno-scientific innovation.

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Workshop
Hacking the Human Sensorium
Susanna Hertrich, Daniela Silvestrin (DE/CH)
En savoir plus

Hacking the Human Sensorium
Susanna Hertrich, Daniela Silvestrin (DE/CH)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Susanna Hertrich, Daniela Silvestrin

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

Quand l’invisible devient visible: l’artiste Susanna Hertrich et la chercheuse Daniela Silvestrin lèveront le voile sur le monde secret des champs électromagnétiques – et leur capacité à tromper nos sens. À l’aide de détecteurs de champs électromagnétiques, les participants réaliseront des expériences pratiques visant à prototyper des piratages sensoriels.

Bienvenue dans un voyage à travers le sensorium humain et non-humain, où nous jouerons avec notre perception et révélerons ce qui ne peut être vu (entendu, senti, goûté, touché). Après une série d’expériences pratiques qui « piratent » nos sens primaires, nous entrerons dans le monde secret des champs électromagnétiques (EM) – signaux émis par les appareils de télécommunications sans fil et autres technologies hyperfréquences – équipés de détecteurs de champs EM personnalisés (développés par Shintaro Miyazaki et Martin Howse). Grâce à ce workshop, les participants comprendront mieux l’utilisation qu’ils font de leur sens et ils apprendront comment la réflexion sur les manières dont les corps détectent des informations accessibles ou cachées peut être utilisée comme méthodologie dans la conception et le prototypage créatifs de hacks sensoriels.

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants sont invités à prendre des stylos et du papier / le reste du matériel sera fourni.

À propos de Susanna Hertrich & Daniela Silvestrin: Susanna Hertrich travaille à l’intersection du design conceptuel et de l’art contemporain. Parallèlement à sa pratique artistique, elle est chercheuse à l’Institute of Experimental Design and Media Cultures à l’Academy of Art and Design FHNW à Bâle, en Suisse. Sa recherche artistique explore les extensions des sens humains et le rôle du corps physique par rapport aux environnements axés sur la technologie.
Daniela Silvestrin est curatrice, chercheuse et programmatrice de projets culturels internationaux. Dans son travail, elle explore les pratiques artistiques hybrides et la production de connaissance à l’intersection de l’art, la loi et les sciences, motivée par son intérêt particulier pour les différentes frontières physiques et éthiques entre l’humain et le non-humain, la vie et la matière, qui deviennent progressivement invisibles en raison de l’innovation techno-scientifique.

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus