Workshop
Browser History Matchmaking
Dries Depoorter (BE)
More information

Browser History Matchmaking
Dries Depoorter (BE)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Dries Depoorter

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

Join media artist Dries Depoorter for a fun group experiment in online dating, Google algorithm tweaking, and browser history analysis and learn about today’s web technology in the process. Will you find your perfect match at Mapping? P.S. Results may inform Depoorter’s next artwork.

Ready to have your browser history pick a date for you? Based on a project, Dries Depoorter is currently working on, workshop participants will subvert the idea of online dating by creating a quasi-prototype for an app that matches people based on their internet browsing behaviour. After analyzing how modern browsers track our trail through the web, we will take a closer look at our own browser history – what does it say about us, are there noticeable patterns, and would we feel comfortable sharing it? A collective bowser history printing session will ensue, the results of which will be compiled and shared anonymously. Going through piles of data, each participant picks the browser history file they’re most interested in – and gets to meet the person behind it over (free) drinks. We will also replicate the experiment algorithmically, sketching a preliminary version of a browser history dating app.

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: your phone or computer (whatever device you primarily surf the internet with) / no prior programming skills required / participants should be open to meeting new people.

About Dries Depoorter: Dries Depoorter is a Belgian media artist and concept developer known for his clever and playful reflections on the Internet’s place within society. His widely reported on installations, devices, and mobile apps deal with issues of privacy, online identity, and surveillance and have been shown at the Barbican, MUTEK, Bozar, Ars Electronica, or Athens Digital Art Festival.

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Workshop
Browser History Matchmaking
Dries Depoorter (BE)
En savoir plus

Browser History Matchmaking
Dries Depoorter (BE)

10.05.18 — 15:30

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Dries Depoorter

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

L’artiste en médias Dries Depoorter vous propose une expérience de groupe amusante qui mêlera rencontres en ligne, modification de l’algorithme de Google et analyse de l’historique de votre navigateur, tout en acquérant des connaissances sur l’actuelle technologie du web. Trouverez-vous l’âme sœur au Mapping Festival? P.-S.: les résultats pourraient documenter la prochaine œuvre de Dries Depoorter!

Prêts à ce que l’historique de votre navigateur fixe un rendez-vous pour vous ? Sur la base d’un projet sur lequel travaille actuellement Dries Depoorter, les participants au workshop détourneront l’idée de la rencontre en ligne en créant un quasi-prototype pour une application qui correspond aux gens en fonction de leur comportement de navigation sur Internet. Après avoir analysé la façon dont les navigateurs modernes suivent notre parcours sur le Web, nous examinerons de plus près notre propre historique de navigation – que dit-il de nous, y’a-t-il des structures visibles et serions-nous prêts à le partager ? S’ensuivra une session collective d’impression d’historiques de navigateur, dont les résultats seront compilés et partagés anonymement. En parcourant des piles de données, chaque participant choisira le fichier d’historique de navigateur qui l’intéresse le plus – et rencontrera la personne derrière cet historique autour d’un verre (offert). Nous allons également répliquer l’expérience de manière algorithmique, en esquissant une version préliminaire d’une application de rencontre basée sur les historiques des navigateurs de chacun.

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un smartphone ou d’un ordinateur (à savoir, le support que vous utilisez habituellement pour surfer sur Internet) / aucune connaissance préalable de la programmation n’est requise / les participants doivent être ouverts aux nouvelles rencontres.

À propos de Dries Depoorter: Dries Depoorter est un artiste multimédia et concepteur belge connu pour ses réflexions intelligentes et ludiques sur la place d’Internet dans la société. Ses installations, appareils, et applications mobiles ont été largement commentés et présentés au Barbican, MUTEK, Bozar, Art Electronica, ou encore à l’Athens Digital Art Festival. Ils portent sur les questions de confidentialité, d’identité en ligne et de surveillance.

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus