Workshop
Processing Oscilloscopes
Ted Davis (US)
More information

Processing Oscilloscopes
Ted Davis (US)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Ted Davis

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

Using his recently released XYscope Processing library, media artist Ted Davis will share beginner-friendly creative coding strategies for audio/video synthesis by drawing vector graphics on an analog oscilloscope – a conversion of shape paths into sound.

Drawing vector graphics with sound: after a creative coding warm-up in Processing, participants will learn their way around XYscope, a recently released Processing library that allows users to draw vector graphics on an analog oscilloscope – a lab device for displaying and analyzing the waveform of electronic signals. You will then learn how to program vector graphics and then how to convert their shape paths into sound. Fed into a 2-channel oscilloscope in XY-mode (there will be two devices for participants to play with) the audio signals will reveal your vector graphics in glowing glory. By experimenting with a variety of generative visuals and their corresponding sound oscillations, participants will understand the fundamentals of audio/video synthesis and explore the tight relationship between what we see and hear.

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: a computer with Processing pre-installed / prior Processing or programming knowledge is helpful, but not essential (the workshop will include a Processing crash-course).

About Ted Davis: Ted Davis is an American media artist and designer based in Basel, Switzerland, where he’s an interaction design lecturer within the Visual Communication Institute at the Academy of Art and Design FHNW. His own work and teachings focuses on image making via programming new and newer media, along with embracing error and glitch, while questioning the ideal and mimetic conditions digital media is asked to encompass.

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Workshop
Processing Oscilloscopes
Ted Davis (US)
En savoir plus

Processing Oscilloscopes
Ted Davis (US)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Ted Davis

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

À l’aide de sa bibliothèque XYscope Processing tout juste parue, l’artiste en médias Ted Davis partagera des stratégies de codage accessibles aux débutants pour la synthèse audio/vidéo, ce en dessinant des graphiques vectoriels sur un oscilloscope analogique – une conversion des tracés de forme en son.

Dessiner des graphiques vectoriels avec du son : après un échauffement créatif en Processing, les participants apprendront à se familiariser avec XYscope, une bibliothèque de Processing récente qui permet à ses utilisateurs de dessiner des graphiques vectoriels sur un oscilloscope analogique – un appareil de laboratoire pour afficher et analyser la courbe de signaux électroniques. Vous apprendrez ensuite à programmer des graphiques vectoriels et comment convertir leur forme en son. Injecté dans un oscilloscope à 2 canaux en mode XY (il y aura deux appareils pour que les participants puissent jouer avec), les signaux audio révéleront vos graphiques vectoriels dans toute leur splendeur. En expérimentant avec une variété de visuels génératifs et leurs oscillations sonores correspondantes, les participants comprendront les fondamentaux de la synthèse audio/vidéo et exploreront la relation étroite entre ce que nous voyons et ce que nous entendons.

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un ordinateur sur lequel Processing a été installé / une connaissance préalable de Processing ou de la programmation serait utile, mais n’est pas essentielle (le workshop inclura un cours accéléré de Processing).

À propos de Ted Davis: Ted Davis est un artiste multimédia et designer américain basé à Bâle, Suisse, où il est chargé de cours en design d’interaction au sein du Visual Communication Institute à l’Academy of Art and Design FHNW. Son propre travail et ses propres enseignements se concentrent sur la création d’image via la programmation de nouveaux médias, en intégrant les erreurs et bugs, tout en remettant en question les conditions idéales et mimétiques que les médias numériques sont appelés à englober.

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus