Workshop
Machine Learning for Artists
Gene Kogan (US)
More information

Machine Learning for Artists
Gene Kogan (US)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Gene Kogan

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

Join machine learning authority Gene Kogan for a survey of the rapidly evolving deep generative model landscape. Learn about variational autoencoders and generative adversarial networks, key codebases and artist projects, and tinker with the pix2pix framework.

Deep generative models are a large class of learning algorithms which have stolen the attention of artists over the past two years, by hallucinating imitations of images from the uncanny valley. This workshop will survey the fast-moving landscape of these algorithms, reviewing the properties of variational autoencoders and generative adversarial networks, as well as surveying existing codebases which implement them and artistic projects which have made use of them. The workshop will also feature a tutorial on how to use the related technique, pix2pix. Pix2pix and its cousin CycleGAN have been responsible for restyling cities and street views, puppeteering pop stars and heads-of-state, zebrafying horses, and much more.
The tutorial will overview how to install and use the software, and various considerations in constructing a dataset to train it on.

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: a computer (tools will be provided at the beginning of the workshop) / no requirements or special skills are required, although having a basic grasp of how to use a terminal would be helpful.

About Gene Kogan: Gene Kogan is an artist, programmer, and lecturer interested in generative systems, computer science, and software for creativity and self-expression. Gene initiated ml4a, a free book about machine learning for artists, activists, and citizen scientists, and regularly publishes video lectures, writings, and tutorials to facilitate a greater public understanding of the subject. His work has been shown at Ars Electronica, EYEBEAM, and the School for Poetic Computation.

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Workshop
Machine Learning for Artists
Gene Kogan (US)
En savoir plus

Machine Learning for Artists
Gene Kogan (US)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Gene Kogan

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

Grand nom du Machine Learning, Gene Kogan proposera un tour d’horizon des modèles génératifs profonds. Les participants découvriront les auto-encodeurs variationnels et les réseaux antagonistes génératifs, les principales bases de code ainsi que des projets artistiques, et pourront expérimenter le modèle de Machine Learning pix2pix.

Les modèles génératifs profonds sont une grande classe d’algorithmes d’apprentissage qui ont attiré l’attention des artistes ces deux dernières années générant d’hallucinantes et étranges images. Ce workshop examinera le paysage en évolution rapide de ces algorithmes, en passant en revue les propriétés des auto-encodeurs variationnels et des réseaux antagonistes génératifs, ainsi que l’étude des bases de codes existantes qui les mettent en œuvre et des projets artistiques qui en ont fait usage. Ce workshop comportera également un tutoriel sur la façon d’utiliser la technique connexe, pix2pix. Pix2pix et son cousin CycleGAN ont été responsables du remodelage des vues de villes et de rues, de la transformation en marionnettes de pop stars et chefs d’Etat, de chevaux en zèbres, et bien plus encore.
Le tutoriel donnera un aperçu de la façon d’installer et d’utiliser le logiciel et rendra compte des diverses considérations dans la construction d’un ensemble de données pour s’entraîner.

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un ordinateur (les outils seront fournis au début du workshop) / aucune connaissance préalable n’est requise, même si une compréhension de base de l’utilisation d’un terminal peut s’avérer utile.

À propos de Gene Kogan: Gene Kogan est un artiste, programmeur et conférencier intéressé par les systèmes génératifs, les sciences informatiques, et les logiciels pour la créativité et l’expression de soi. Gene a lancé ml4a, un livre gratuit sur l’apprentissage automatique pour les artistes, activistes, et les scientifiques citoyens, et publie régulièrement des conférences vidéo, des écrits et des tutoriels pour faciliter une meilleure compréhension publique du sujet. Ses œuvres ont été montrées à Ars Electronica, EYEBEAM et à la School for Poetic Computation.

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus