Workshop
Data Visualisation for a Post-Truth World
Lisa Charlotte Rost, Stef Tervelde (DE/NL)
More information

Data Visualisation for a Post-Truth World
Lisa Charlotte Rost, Stef Tervelde (DE/NL)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Lisa Charlotte Rost, Stef Tervelde

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

An editorial data vis whizz (Bloomberg, NPR, ZEIT Online, Tagesspiegel), Lisa Charlotte Rost will provide a comprehensive data visualization primer that juxtaposes tactics, techniques, and tools used in both the newsroom and data art. Learn how to read, visualize, and plot data!

In the era of ‘alternative facts’ and ‘fake news’, the importance of understanding and properly representing data cannot be overstated. In this comprehensive data visualization primer, participants will learn how to parse and visualize data. Starting with the first principles of creating easy-to-read visualizations, we will then investigate the tools and techniques by which newsrooms create everything from simple charts to mind-bending interactive experiences and learn how to create a newsroom visualisation of our own. Then, newsroom standards are thrown overboard in favour of generating meaningful data art – which we will then plot on paper. In order to do so, participants will learn how control an AxiDraw plotter with a custom Processing sketch.

Workshop duration: half-day
Workshop language: English
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: a computer, preferably with Processing and Inkscape installed / no coding skills required (workshop includes a Processing crash-course).

About Lisa Charlotte Rost and Stef Tervelde: Lisa Charlotte Rost is a data-affine designer who loves systems, maps, and overviews. Before starting to work for Datawrapper (a charting tool for journalists), she visualized data in the graphics teams of Bloomberg in New York City, NPR in Washington DC, and ZEIT Online and Tagesspiegel in Berlin. Lisa taught data visualization at several German universities and lives in Berlin, where she co-organizes the monthly Data Vis Meetup.
Stef Tervelde is a graduate of Interaction Design at ArtEZ Academy of Art Arnhem with a passion for all things digital. He uses code to design processes for quick iteration and design as a tool to look critically at the technologies that he creates. He is currently part of the team at NEEEU.

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Workshop
Data Visualisation for a Post-Truth World
Lisa Charlotte Rost, Stef Tervelde (DE/NL)
En savoir plus

Data Visualisation for a Post-Truth World
Lisa Charlotte Rost, Stef Tervelde (DE/NL)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Lisa Charlotte Rost, Stef Tervelde

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

Experte en science des données éditoriales (Bloomberg, NPR, ZEIT Online, Tagesspiegel), Lisa Charlotte Rost proposera un tour d’horizon complet des tactiques, techniques et outils utilisés tant en salle de rédaction qu’en Data Art pour la visualisation des données. Les participants seront invités à appréhender, visualiser et combiner les données.

À l’ère des « faits alternatifs » et « fake news », l’importance de comprendre et de représenter correctement les données ne peut être sous-estimée. Dans cette introduction complète à la visualisation des données, les participants apprendront comment analyser et visualiser les données. En commençant par les principes fondamentaux de création de visualisations faciles à lire, nous étudierons ensuite les outils et techniques qui permettent aux rédactions de journaux de tout créer, des graphiques simples aux expériences interactives époustouflantes, et d’apprendre à créer notre propre visualisation d’une salle de rédaction. Ensuite, les normes de cette salle seront mises de côté en faveur de la création d’un art de données significatif – que nous allons ensuite tracer sur papier. Pour ce faire, les participants apprendront à contrôler un traceur AxiDraw avec une esquisse Processing personnalisée.

Durée du workshop: demi-journée
Langue du workshop: anglais
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un ordinateur sur lequel Processing et Inkscape ont si possible été installés / aucune connaissance préalable de codage n’est requise (le workshop inclura un cours accéléré de Processing).

À propos de Lisa Charlotte Rost et Stef Tervelde: Lisa Charlotte Rost est une conceptrice de données affines qui aime les systèmes, les cartes et les aperçus. Avant de commencer à travailler pour Datawrapper (un outil de cartographie pour les journalistes), elle a visualisé des données dans les équipes graphiques de Bloomberg à New York, NPR à Washington DC, ZEIT Online et Tagesspiegel à Berlin. Lisa a enseigné la visualisation de données dans plusieurs universités allemandes et vit à Berlin, où elle coorganise les mensuelles Data Vis Meetups.
Stef Tervelde est diplômé d’Interaction Design de la ArtEZ Academy of Art Arnhem et est passionné de tout ce qui touche au numérique. Il utilise le code pour concevoir des processus d’itération rapide en tant qu’outil permettant de jeter un regard critique sur les technologies qu’il crée. Il fait actuellement partie de l’équipe de NEEEU.

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus