Workshop
TouchDesigner & Live Performance
Markus Heckmann (DE/CA)
More information

TouchDesigner & Live Performance
Markus Heckmann (DE/CA)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Markus Heckmann

-> To join this or other workshops, first purchase a Mapping LAB ticket here and then register (for either a full-day or two half-day workshops) here.

TouchDesigner Technical Director Markus Heckmann will introduce the powerful visual development platform and present best practices for using it in live performance – from video mixing to generative 2D/3D to MIDI control to projection mapping.

Developed by the Toronto-based company Derivative, TouchDesigner is a powerful real-time visual development platform famous for its capacity to drive high-performance large-scale installations, audiovisual performances, and (Academy) award winning Hollywood special effects. In this full-day workshop, participants will discover the framework’s intuitive and exploratory process of content creation by building robust live performance setups. Learn how to use TouchDesigner for video playback and video mixing, image-based effects, generative 2D/3D and rendering, MIDI, OSC and device control, and projection mapping.

Workshop duration: full-day
Workshop language: English
Number of participants: 12 max.
Requirements: a computer with a 3-button mouse / the latest release of TouchDesigner installed, keyed and tested (download from here, more info on creating an account and acquiring a key here, details in system requirements here) / participants are welcome to bring their own MIDI devices.

About Markus Heckmann: As TouchDesigner’s Technical Director, Markus Heckmann has developed a wide range of applications spanning major theme park attractions to public video displays, art installations like Carsten Nikolai’s uni series, live visual projects for musicians such as Plastikman or Alva Noto, and the development of fully fledged control applications including WhiteVoid’s KineticLights. As a visual artist, has performed alongside numerous electronic musicians including Robag Wruhme, Kangding Ray, and Morgan Geist.

Workshop
TouchDesigner & Live Performance
Markus Heckmann (DE/CA)
En savoir plus

TouchDesigner & Live Performance
Markus Heckmann (DE/CA)

10.05.18 — 10:00

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Markus Heckmann

-> Pour participer à ce workshop ou à d’autres workshops, veuillez acheter un billet ici, puis vous inscrire (soit pour un workshop d’une journée complète, soit pour deux workshops d’une demi-journée) ici.

Markus Heckmann, directeur technique de TouchDesigner, présentera cette puissante plateforme de développement visuel ainsi que les meilleures manières de l’exploiter lors de performances live – de la lecture vidéo à la 2D/3D générative, en passant par le contrôle MIDI et le mapping vidéo.

Développé par la société Derivative basée à Toronto, TouchDesigner est une puissante plateforme de développement visuel en temps réel, réputée pour sa capacité à piloter des installations très performantes à grande échelle, des performances audiovisuelles et des effets spéciaux primés à Hollywood. Dans ce workshop d’une journée, les participants découvriront le processus intuitif et exploratoire de création de contenu de framework en construisant des configurations solides de performances en direct. Apprenez à utiliser TouchDesigner pour la lecture et le mixage vidéo, les effets basés sur l’image, la 2D/3D générative et le rendu, les dispositif de commande MIDI et OSC, et la projection mapping

Durée du workshop: journée complète
Langue du workshop: anglais
Nombre de participants: 12 max.
Matériel et prérequis: les participants doivent se munir d’un ordinateur avec une souris à 3 boutons / ils doivent aussi installer la dernière version de TouchDesigner sur leur ordinateur, la valider à l’aide d’une clé et la tester (télécharger la dernière version ici, plus d’infos sur la création d’un compte et l’obtention d’une clé ici, détails concernant la configuration requise ici) / les participants sont aussi invités à prendre leurs propres périphériques MIDI.

À propos de Markus Heckmann: En tant que directeur technique de TouchDesigner, Markus Heckmann a développé une large gamme d’applications couvrant les principales attractions de parcs à thème à des présentations vidéo publiques, des installations artistiques comme la série de Carsten Nikolai uni, des projets visuels pour des musiciens tels que Plastikman ou Alva Noto, et le développement d’applications de contrôle à part entière incluant les KineticLights de WhiteVoid. En tant qu’artiste visuel, il a joué aux côtés de nombreux musiciens électroniques tels que Robag Wruhme, Kangding Ray et Morgan Geist.