A/V Performance
U-AV
Macular (NL)
More information

U-AV
Macular (NL)

12.05.18 — 21:50

Bâtiment H

Macular is an initiative of a group of artists based in Rotterdam who share a collective interest in art, science, technology and perception. Their projects aim to create their own abstract language, which is mostly based on rule-sets within self-built systems. This development happens through constant interaction between the works and the creators, since the pieces are shaped and transformed throughout the process. With this in mind, Macular aims for a minimalistic aesthetics through a continuous exploration of the basic characteristic properties of the media they use. Whether they are cultivated systems or natural phenomena, the medium gets stripped down to the essence of the medium itself, showing only what is necessary to perform the composition. Work by Macular members has been shown worldwide at festivals and institutions such as WRO International Media Art Biennale (Wroclaw, Poland), Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam, The Netherlands), EXIT Festival (Paris, France), Microwave International New Media Arts Festival (Hong Kong, China), Sight&Sound Festival (Montreal, Canada), Saatchi Gallery (London, United Kingdom).

In the U-AV series Macular (Joris Strijbos and Matthijs Munnik) build synaesthetic landscapes from electronic sound structures, generative video and stroboscopic light. The project is the result of a combined research on the side effects of human perception and how the eyes perceive visual complexity in combination with external flicker images and loud pulsating sounds. The stroboscopic light is used at specific frequencies and colors to induce hallucinatory imagery, these images melt together with the stroboscopic patterns generated in the video projection. While the installation relentlessly over-stimulate the audiovisual senses, the works open up and envelops the audience in a meditative and hypnotic zone where the spectator can dream away in the abstract worlds that pass.

U-AV was realized with the support of Sonic Acts Festival and was selected for SHAPE (Sound, Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe) and The Creative Europe program of the European Commission. Presented in collaboration with Fiber.

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

Performance A/V
U-AV
Macular (NL)
En savoir plus

U-AV
Macular (NL)

12.05.18 — 21:50

Bâtiment H

Macular est un groupe d’artistes basé à Rotterdam. Leurs intérêts se retrouvent à l’intersection de l’art, la science, la technologie et les questions de perception. Leurs projets ont pour but de créer leur propre langage abstrait, principalement basés sur des systèmes qu’ils développent eux-mêmes. S’ensuit une interaction infinie entre ces machines et leurs créateurs, car la transformation est continue. Dans cette optique, le collectif s’impose une exploration profonde des propriétés de chaque médium qu’ils utilisent, en cultivant l’essence même du médium et dévoilant ainsi ce qui est réellement nécessaire dans la composition de la performance. Leurs œuvres ont été présentées internationalement, au sein d’institutions et programmations de festivals tels que WRO International Media Art Biennale (Wroclaw, Pologne), Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam, Pays-Bas), EXIT festival (Paris, France), Microwave International New Media Arts Festival (Hong-Kong), Sight&Sound Festival (Montréal, Canada), Saatchi Gallery (Londres, Royaume-Uni).

Dans la série U-AV, Macular (Joris Strijbos et Matthijs Munnik) construisent des paysages synesthésiques à partir de structures sonores électroniques, de vidéos génératives et de lumière stroboscopique. Ce projet est le fruit d’une recherche sur les effets secondaires de la perception humaine et la manière dont les yeux perçoivent la complexité visuelle en combinaison avec des scintillements externes et de fortes pulsations sonores. La lumière stroboscopique est utilisée à des fréquences et tonalités de couleur spécifiques afin d’induire des images hallucinatoires qui se fondent aux motifs stroboscopiques dans la projection vidéo. Sans relâche, l’installation stimule à l’extrême les sens audiovisuels, de sorte que l’œuvre se révèle et enveloppe le spectateur dans une zone méditative et hypnotique où il peut rêver au gré des mondes abstraits qui défilent.

U-AV a été réalisée avec le soutien du Sonic Acts Festival et a été sélectionnée par la plateforme SHAPE (Sound, Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe) et le programme Europe créative de la Commission européenne. Présenté en collaboration avec Fiber.

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus