Panel discussion
Minds, Bodies and the Machine
Marco Donnarumma, Rosario Hurtado, Jürg Lehni, Prof. David Rudrauf, Susanna Hertrich
More information

Minds, Bodies and the Machine
Marco Donnarumma, Rosario Hurtado, Jürg Lehni, Prof. David Rudrauf, Susanna Hertrich

09.05.18 — 16:50

Bâtiment H

Speakers:Marco Donnarumma, Rosario Hurtado, Jürg Lehni, Prof. David Rudrauf, Susanna Hertrich

The body and mind are fundamental aspects to understand human identity, behaviour, race and gender. Both, body and mind, are mediums of expressions and subjects of investigation for artists and designers. With recent developments in mind and body-enhancing technologies, and the latest advances in the field of human-machine-interaction, artists, designers and researchers have the potential to alter the human faculties such as self-consciousness, autonomy and agency.

Artists, designers and researchers are working together on artistic projects that seek to hack and re-configure our preconceived modes of reality, the way we relate to our minds and bodies, and how we communicate and interact with machines. How is technology shaping human nature and existence? What are the ethical implications of these practices? What role does technology play in the creative process? Has digital technology become an influential actor or an autonomous agent in art? Or is it becoming a self-reflective tool for artists? How is the current socio-cultural and political landscape influencing the way artists design technologies for art production?

This session is an exploration of the human-technology relationship from an artistic and scientific point of view. It reveals how artists, designers and scientists use a variety of technological systems as means to reconsider artistic production, and to investigate machine embodiment, and the body and mind connection.

Rosario Hurtado (moderator), founding member of El Último Grito, Head of Department MA Space & Communication, HEAD – Genève
Marco Donnarumma, artist and scholar (marcodonnarumma.com)
Jürg Lehni, artist and designer (juerglehni.com)
Susanna Hertrich, artist, researcher and critical designer (susannahertrich.com)
Prof. David Rudrauf, psychologist and neuroscientist

Conference language: English

Credits: Jürg Lehni

Credits: Onuk

Credits: Susanna Hertrich

Credits: Samuel Hanselmann

Table ronde
Minds, Bodies and the Machine
Marco Donnarumma, Rosario Hurtado, Jürg Lehni, Prof. David Rudrauf, Susanna Hertrich
En savoir plus

Minds, Bodies and the Machine
Marco Donnarumma, Rosario Hurtado, Jürg Lehni, Prof. David Rudrauf, Susanna Hertrich

09.05.18 — 16:50

Bâtiment H

Intervenants:Marco Donnarumma, Rosario Hurtado, Jürg Lehni, Prof. David Rudrauf, Susanna Hertrich

Le corps et l’esprit sont des aspects fondamentaux dans la compréhension de l’identité, du comportement, de la race et du genre humains. Tous deux sont à la fois moyen d’expression et objet d’investigation pour les artistes et designers. Grâce aux récents progrès des technologies visant l’amélioration des capacités physiques et psychiques ainsi qu’aux derniers développements dans le domaine de l’interaction homme-machine, les artistes, designers et chercheurs ont la possibilité d’influer sur les facultés humaines telles que la conscience de soi, l’autonomie et l’organisation.

Ensemble, ils travaillent sur des projets artistiques visant à pirater et reconfigurer nos modes de réalité préconçus, notre relation au corps et à l’esprit ainsi que notre façon de communiquer et d’interagir avec les machines. Comment la technologie parvient-elle à modeler la nature et l’existence humaines? Quelles sont les implications éthiques de ces pratiques? Quel est le rôle de la technologie dans le processus créatif? La technologie numérique est-elle devenue un acteur influent ou un agent autonome dans l’art? Ou encore, devient-elle un outil de réflexion sur soi pour les artistes? De quelle manière le paysage politique et socioculturel influe-t-il sur la manière dont les artistes créent des technologies pour la production artistique?

Cette session se veut une exploration de la relation entre l’être humain et la technologie d’un point de vue artistique et scientifique. Elle entend révéler la façon dont les artistes, designers et scientifiques utilisent un éventail de systèmes technologiques comme moyens de reconsidérer la production artistique et d’investiguer tant la personnification de la machine que la connexion corps-esprit.

Rosario Hurtado (modératrice), membre fondatrice de El Último Grito, responsable du département du MA Espaces et Communication, HEAD – Genève
Marco Donnarumma, artiste et universitaire (marcodonnarumma.com)
Jürg Lehni, artiste et designer (juerglehni.com)
Susanna Hertrich, artiste, chercheuse et designer critique (susannahertrich.com)
Prof. David Rudrauf, psychologue et neuroscientifique

Langue de la conférence: anglais

Crédits: Jürg Lehni

Crédits: Onuk

Crédits: Susanna Hertrich

Crédits: Samuel Hanselmann

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir une expérience optimale de navigation. En continuant de visiter ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies.

J’ai comprisEn savoir plus